This is the "Finding Articles" page of the "American Studies Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

American Studies Resources  

Useful resources for American studies research
Last Updated: Feb 1, 2016 URL: http://libguides.alma.edu/american_studies Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Do We Have This Article?

Found an article that looks perfect, but the full-text isn't available in the database you're searching? Click on Check for Local Full Text to see if we have the article in another database.

You can also Search for Full-text by Title.

If we don't have full-text access, you can request the article via Interlibrary loan.
Articles often arrive in 48-72 hours and are sent to your Alma email address.

 

Search for Full-text

I Know What I Need,

Just Not Where to Find It

Ever feel that way? Do you have a citation for an article and want to know if we have it? Do you know the name of a journal of a newspaper, magazine, or journal and want to know which databases have full-text coverage? You can Search for Full-text by Title here!

 

Article Databases for American Studies Research

America: History and Life is an index of literature concerning the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistory to the present. It primarily consists of indexing for 1,700 journals as far back as 1910, but also includes citations for books and media reviews.

 JSTOR is a database of thousands of academic journals, letters, and primary sources, covering the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Articles are full-text searchable and include high-quality images.

Project Muse is a collection of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies.

MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography is published by the Modern Languages Association and is a subject index for books, articles and websites. Indexing dates back to 1923 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.

New York Times Historical (1851-2008) provides full text access to the newspaper. Articles are available in PDF format and are viewable in the context of the page with the clickable "Page view." Click here for full text access to the New York Times from 1980 to the present, including PDF versions of the The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine

Wall Street Journal Historical provides full text access to the newspaper from 1889-1994. Choose Wall Street Journal (1984-present) for full text access to the most recent years of the newspaper.

ProQuest Research Library is a large, diverse database consisting of indexing for over 5,000 titles, over 3,500 of which are available in full text. Coverage extends from 1971 to present.

General OneFile covers a wide range of subjects. It contains indexing for over 13,000 titles, over 8,000 of which are full-text, from 1980 to present.

Academic OneFile contains indexing for over 9,000 peer-reviewed journals, as well as magazines, newspapers, and audio, video and image files. Coverage stretches from 1980 to the present, and content is updated daily.

Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, over 14,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.

Click here for a complete A-Z list of library databases and more!

About the Library

Profile Image
Alma College Library
Contact Info
Call the library at x7229
(989.463.7229 from a cell)
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip