This is the "Finding Articles" page of the "Nursing Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nursing Resources  

Library resources for Nursing
Last Updated: Aug 24, 2016 URL: http://libguides.alma.edu/nursing Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Do We Have This Article?

Found an article that looks perfect, but the full-text isn't available in the database you're searching? Click on Check for Local Full Text to see if we have the article in another database.

You can also Search for Full-text by Title.

If we don't have full-text access, you can request the article via Interlibrary loan.
Articles often arrive in 48-72 hours and are sent to your Alma email address.

 

Search for Full-text

I Know What I Need,

Just Not Where to Find It

Ever feel that way? Do you have a citation for an article and want to know if we have it? Do you know the name of a journal of a newspaper, magazine, or journal and want to know which databases have full-text coverage? You can Search for Full-text by Title here!

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a source of scholarly sources on the open web.  Not everything is available this way, but sometimes Google Scholar can provide free, online access to things not available full-text in library databases.  It's worth checking out!



 

Article Databases for Nursing

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source is a useful resource for students in the medical sciences, including nursing, allied health, alternative, and complementary medicine. Coverage extends from 1986 to present and consists of abstracting and indexing for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text, plus more than 12,000 full text dissertations.

MEDLINE® on this service contains over 6 million citations and abstracts, providing unparalleled access to worldwide biomedical literature. The database contains a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services.

Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module is a useful resource for those in the health sciences. It indexes 1,000 top medical journals and periodicals as well as articles from more than 2,200 general-interest publications. Over 75% of these are available in full-text. In addition, this resource provides access to full-text reference works, streaming videos, resources discussing treatment methods in alternative medicine, and information on drugs and herbal remedies.

Biological Abstracts is an expansive index of journal literature in the life sciences. In addition to keyword searching, this index is also searchable using BIOSIS indexing, MESH terms, and CAS registry numbers.

Science Direct offers indexing and abstracting of journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. 

SpringerLINK provides researchers with access to scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works.

ProQuest Science Journals is a valuable resource for students in the sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1,145 titles-with more than 965 available in full text.

ProQuest Biological Science Collection includes indexing of journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents from 1982-present. Over 600 of the journals are available in full text.

Research Library - Science & Technology Module is a subset of the ProQuest Research Library. This resource has full-text coverage of many areas in the sciences.

Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, over 14,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.

Click here for a complete A-Z list of library databases and more!

About the Library

Profile Image
Alma College Library
Contact Info
Call the library at x7229
(989.463.7229 from a cell)
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip