This is the "Finding Articles" page of the "Sociology Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sociology Resources  

Useful resources for research in the field of sociology
Last Updated: Mar 17, 2016 URL: http://libguides.alma.edu/sociology Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Do We Have This Article?

Found an article that looks perfect, but the full-text isn't available in the database you're searching? Click on Check for Local Full Text to see if we have the article in another database.

You can also Search for Full-text by Title.

If we don't have full-text access, you can request the article via Interlibrary loan.
Articles often arrive in 48-72 hours and are sent to your Alma email address.

 

Search for Full-text

I Know What I Need,

Just Not Where to Find It

Ever feel that way? Do you have a citation for an article and want to know if we have it? Do you know the name of a journal of a newspaper, magazine, or journal and want to know which databases have full-text coverage? You can Search for Full-text by Title here!

 

Article Databases for Sociology Research

 

Sociological Abstracts is a useful resource for students of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.  This resource indexes and abstracts journal articles and book reviews from over 1800 periodicals, as well as providing abstracts for books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.  Indexing coverage extends back to the 1950s.  Topics include culture and social structure, family and marriage, history and theory of sociology, organizational sociology, political sociology, poverty and homelessness, race and ethnicity, social change and economic development, social control, sociology of health and medicine, and more.


Statistical Insight Link  provides users with an opportunity to search across all content with one search.

 JSTOR is a database of thousands of academic journals, letters, and primary sources, covering the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Articles are full-text searchable and include high-quality images.

ProQuest Sociology provides full-text access to over 275 journals covering topics in sociology and social work.

ProQuest Social Science Journals is a useful resource for students in the social sciences. This resource provides indexing for over 570 journal titles, over 340 of which are available in full text.

ProQuest International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is an index of over 2 million journal articles, books, reviews, and selected chapters. Coverage extends from 1951 to present, and is updated biweekly.

ProQuest Research Library is a large, diverse database that is useful to students in a wide range of subject areas. Content consists of indexing for over 5,000 titles, over 3,500 of which are available in full text. Coverage extends from 1971 to present.

General OneFile is a large database covering a wide range of subjects. It contains indexing for over 13,000 titles, over 8,000 of which are full-text, from 1980 to present.

Academic OneFile is a database that contains indexing for over 9,000 peer-reviewed journals, as well as magazines, newspapers, and audio, video and image files. Coverage stretches from 1980 to the present, and content is updated daily.

Click here for a complete A-Z list of library databases and more!

About the Library

Profile Image
Alma College Library
Contact Info
Call the library at x7229
(989.463.7229 from a cell)
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip